Gerald Davies elected as Welsh Rugby Union President

01 Oct 2019

The Welsh Rugby Union has elected another former Cambridge Blue, Gerald Davies, to be their President when Dennis Gethin stands down at the end of the Rugby World Cup in Japan.

Gethin, who won Blues in 1965 and 1966, has served as President for 12 years having previously been WRU Secretary. His successor will be his former Cardiff team mate, who will serve a three-year term.

Davies won three Blues while studying at Emmanuel College and was captain of the Cambridge University club in 1970. At that stage he had already been capped by both Wales and the British & Irish Lions.

He went on to play 46 times for his country, captaining them once on tort in Australia in 1978, and played in five Tests for the Lions on the 1968 (1) and 1971 (4) tours to South Africa and New Zealand respectively. He scored three test tries for the Lions and, at the time, a recording equalling 20 for Wales as he helped his country win Grand Slams in 1971, 1976 and 1978.

In 2009 he was the team manager on the Lions tour to South Africa and is currently the chairman of the Guinness PRO14. He also served on the WRU Board of Directors for nine years between 2005 and 2014.

“Welsh rugby has a great history and tradition and I’m delighted to follow in the footsteps of some truly exceptional rugby men who have held the position through time,” said Davies, who in 2015 was inducted into the World Rugby hall of Fame.

“It has been my greatest honour to have played international rugby for Wales, but it really is the pinnacle of my lifetime in rugby to receive this honour at such a wonderful time for our national sport.”

Davies follows in the footsteps of four other Cambridge Blues who have served as President of the WRU and will become the 26th former Cambridge student to become President of one of the Four Home Unions.

WRU Presidents from Cambridge University
Nathan Rocyn-Jones, Downing, 1964-65
Harry Bowcott, St Catherine’s, 1974-75
Cliff Jones, Clare, 1980-81
Denis Gethin, Selwyn, 2007-19